

THE BIRMINGHAM & MIDLAND INSTITUTE

Minutes of the MMXXIII Annual General Meeting

Held in The Sir Arthur Sullivan Hall, 9 Margaret Street, Birmingham

10.30 a.m., Saturday 15th April 2023

Present:

On behalf of the Governors:

Mrs S. Ansari	Junior Vice President
Mr. J. Fletcher	Honorary Treasurer
Mr. S. Hartland	Honorary Secretary
Mr. M. Blake	Elected Governor
Mr. Akil Dowe	Elected Governor
Mr. Nigel Easom	Elected Governor
Miss. J. Francis	Elected Governor
Cllr J. Hunt	Council Governor
Cllr R. Pocock	Council Governor
Mrs. P. Smith	Elected Governor

On behalf of the administration:

Mr D. Parsons Operations Manager

AGM 1/23 Chairing the AGM

In accordance with Section XLI. of The Birmingham & Midland Act 1854, and in the absence of the President, and of the Senior Vice President, the Junior Vice President, Mrs Samina Ansari, assumed the Chair.

AGM 2/23 Notice convening the meeting

The notice convening the meeting was read by Mr S. Hartland.

AGM 3/21 Apologies for absence

Members informing of their absence are noted in Appendix A. Those 33 members who attended are noted in Appendix B.

AGM 4/21 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2022

The motion that the Minutes be accepted as a true record was carried unanimously. Proposed by M. Blake; seconded by J. Fletcher.

AGM 5/21 Passing of the Report of the Council for the year ended 30th June 2022

The report had been circulated to members and Mrs Ansari asked if there were any questions or comments. Mr. Stock asked if there would be a presentation on the Annual Report. The response was that members in the recent past had requested brevity, so that an additional commentary had been dropped. Several other members supported the suggestion that it be re-instated. Mr. Hartland gave an impromptu summary of the Annual Report, including the current position on the sale of 93-95 Cornwall Street. Following a discussion, it was agreed to re-instate this as part of the 2024 AGM. Members were asked to vote on the acceptance of the report, which was done by a show of hands. Proposed by J. Fletcher; seconded by J. Lawson.

The report was passed unanimously.

AGM 6/21 Passing of the Financial Statements for the year ended 30th June 2020

The Financial Statements had been circulated to members and Mrs Ansari asked if there were any questions or comments. The Officers were met with a similar question asking if there was going to be a presentation on the statements. The response was the same, that members had asked for brevity in past AGMs, but Mr. Fletcher gave a verbal overview. It was agreed to re-instate this as part of the 2024 AGM. Members were asked to vote on the acceptance of the Financial Statements, which was done by a show of hands. Proposed by J. Fletcher; seconded by S. Hartland.

The report was passed unanimously.

AGM 7/21 <u>Election of the 168th President</u>

Sir David Cannadine had agreed to serve a further year as President.

Proposed by P. Borg-Bartolo; seconded by N. Easom.

Sir David Cannadine was re-elected President unanimously.

AGM 8/21 <u>Election of other Official Governors</u>

Dr Serena Trowbridge was elected as Senior Vice-President Samina Ansari was elected as Junior Vice-President James Fletcher was elected as Honorary Treasurer

AGM 9/21 **Election of Elective Governors**

Mr. M. Blake Mr. S. Hartland

Miss I. Călin Mr. A. Pritchard-Jones

Mr. A. Dowe Miss A. Round Mr. N. Easom Mrs. P. Smith Miss. J. Francis Mr. M. Vaughan

All were nominated and elected Governors.

AGM 10/21 Thanks

Mrs Ansari thanked all members for attending and also the Governors, staff and volunteers for all their hard work.

Comments:

Mr Haseler asked if he could table some items under AOB. Mr Hartland said that no AOB was allowed under The Birmingham & Midland Act 1854, Section XXXVI. Mr Haseler then asked if he could make some comments, which the Chair gave him leave to do, viz:

1. Nominations to the Board

He asserted that there had been no call for nominations to the Board. Mr Hartland responded by saying that this is not so, saying that the Institute has called for nominations throughout the year via the Newsletter. Mr Hartland subsequently confirmed to Mr Haseler that it was in June 2022, September 2022 and January 2023;

2. Membership Figures

Asked for publication of membership figures. This was agreed and will appear in next year's report. Mr Hartland subsequently wrote to Mr Haseler to confirm the figures;

3. Event Promotion

He asserted that the promotion of events is poor. Mr Hartland responded by saying that members are sent regular e-mails listing what is happening at the Institute. In addition we post events and news via social media and our quarterly newsletter. This includes the BMI website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Linked-In, as different age-groups use different platforms.

Mr Haseler said that he comes into the Institute regularly and sees nothing advertised, but the large monitor next to the reception desk advertises what is on in each of the rooms that day and what is coming over the next few weeks. We have decided not to promote events using printed media as it is costly and wasteful and not environmentally friendly.

4. Room Nomenclature

Mr. Haseler lamented that the membership had not been consulted on the naming of rooms. Mr Hartland responded by saying that the Board of Governors managed the Institute, and it must be left for them to manage without having to survey members every time it made a decision. However, the Board often asks members for nominations, for instance The President's Medal, Fellowships, etc and we receive no replies.

At the end of this Q&A session Mr Haseler proposed a vote of thanks, on behalf of the members, to all the volunteers at the Institute. This was met with a round of applause.

The meeting concluded at 11.20 am.

Signed:	
---------	--

Date:

<u>APPENDIX A – APOLOGIES</u>

Philip AdamsAdam HiggsKaty RicksRuth BarberJudith HurstCarol SockettSir David CannadineMary LockeGill SockettCarl ChinnThe Lord Mayor of BirminghamFiona Tait

Jonathan DavidsonProfessor Clive MarshSerena TrowbridgeMark EcclestonPeter MilesJacqueline Wood

APPENDIX B - ATTENDANCE

Samina Ansari Gillian Stock Alison Lovell Mark Blake James Fletcher Rebecca Lovell Sue Blake Jacqui Francis B. McLean Peter Borg-Bartolo Nuala Graham M. McLean Anne Crowther Stephen Hartland Rob Pocock Sandra Davidson Maurice Haseler Celia Potts Eneida Haseler David Pulford Akil Dowe Nigel Easom Ted Heal Valerian Rego Pat Smith Jon Hunt Evelyn Rego Ronald Smith Jeffrey Skidmore Irene Lawson **Christine Wood Chris Stock** John Lawson

Guests:

Daniel Parsons